The symptoms of change in video games using Uncharted 4 as an example

Wow, what a long and overly complex title. This article must be amazing! Spoiler alert: It’s not, I’m just nitpicking again^^

So I recently enjoyed Uncharted 4 the way I enjoyed Golden Abyss: By watching other people play it on YouTube without commentary. I don’t have a PS4 and I won’t buy a PS4 and while I get that some people ought to rather play the game, I really, REALLY don’t want to. You see, I think the Uncharted gameplay is boring. Tomb Raider did it so much better. I played Uncharted 1-3 myself and while I loved the presentation I didn’t like the gameplay in those, so back then I decided to consume any sequels just as videos.

However, I LOVE the characters in Uncharted, the writing (despite the fact that 4 had a very boring story), the setups and the little details. It’s just that the gameplay is boring, predictable and wonky. Kinda like the story, characters and setups in Tomb Raider. Weird how that goes^^

Anyway, my overall thinking is that I like Uncharted but it would be so much better as a movie. But while watching Uncharted 4 I noticed something that has been bugging me a while now and I can finally make sense of it.

Is it just me or is music in the videogames industry taking a backseat while graphics evolve? I mean, the old Uncharted games looked great but had amazing soundtracks. Uncharted 4 looks amazing but the soundtrack is rather boring. Music in the Assassin’s Creed games have become boring while graphics evolved. Castlevania Lords of Shadow looks amazing but sounds dull. The list goes on. We push graphics but not music, and that has always been the case in games. But lately, I think, we realized that if we make music sound ochestral and epic we can get away with not really putting much effort into it. Back when we had very limited options we had to compose catchy tunes, now all we need is a choir and some bwahhs and boom, soundtrack.

That’s not to say that music nowadays is bad. As games like Undertale, Shovel Knight or Xenoblade Chronicles (not X) have proven, we still have it in us. I just feel like we give music less thought than visuals simply because it’s easier to market visuals. I also believe that is is a mistake, as people are willing to spend money on videogame concerts as well.

Look, I am not saying all music needs to be catchy tunes and great compositions. Of course not. I am just saying that we should not forget great music when we push the envelope for what we can do in videogames. That’s all.

Also Uncharted 4 has a boring story, good thing I don’t care for story in my videogames since I prefer gamepla— Awww crap.

This entry was posted in gaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

