FullBlast Wii U Review

I haven’t done one of these in a while and since I have so many things to do I figured I can squeeze this in now. Makes no sense, but if you come here you should know that by now. On to the review, then 🙂

FullBlast is a vertical scrolling Shoot ’em up. You are a fighter pilot trying to repel an alien invasion. It is as clicheé as it gets but that’s okay for a game like this. Your jet slowly moves upwards on the screen and you can move it left, right, up, down and diagonally to evade the alien weaponry all while you shoot the aliens yourself. It is a very simple concept and it’s no wonder this type of game has been used for decades. It just works.

FullBlast doesn’t reinvent the formula at all. In fact, it scales thirty years of advancements and refinements back to the basics, which makes for an enjoyable, albeit short and easy experience. Instead of a truckload of bullets and tons of enemies to evade at the same time, the game takes it slow but steady. The visuals are clear and easy to look at and the game never throws more at you than you can handle.

Graphically speaking the game is very basic, but it has a nice and clean style so it doesn’t look bad at all. The backgrounds are muted, which was a great decision since it helps with the action in front fo you. You’ll never have the problem of not knowing if an object is an enemy or just background.

The music is heavy metal inspired and while I like that sort of thing, the track selection is very meager. Either the game only has four songs or they all sound the same. It is serviceable but won’t win any awards. This is something that sums up the entire game, really.

I enjoyed the game while it lasted. It only has 12 areas but since they change it up every time you replay a stage it is nice enough to play. The weapons are very basic and every now and then a boss appears. Truly, this game is as basic as it can get when it comes to gameplay. And funny enough, I really like that!

You see, I am a casual shooter player. There are hardcore shooter fans out there who will probably laugh at this calling it casual and that’s what it is. It’s a shooter for people like me. Personally, I really like the game. The pricetag helps greatly as you can get it for only six bucks, which is a steal.

The biggest problem I have with it is that it has zero gamepad support. The gamepad is just off when you play the game. It DOES support Off TV play though. The other issue I have is that the game has a few grammatical errors and spelling errors. I am not a native english speaker myself but it was really obvious most of the time. A patch to fix those mistakes and maybe add in gamepad support (like showing health and what weapon you have or how many ships you currently have on the gamepad instead the TV, maybe menu control via touchscreen) alongside two more music tracks would make the game much better.

As it is, FullBlast is a solid yet barebones shooter experience for the casual fan. I recommend it because I like those things, it looks nice, plays well and isn’t too expensive. If that’s enough for you and you are curious about the genre, this is a good place to start.

I would rate this game 7 out of 10 Alien Invasions^^

This entry was posted in reviews, Wii U and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FullBlast Wii U Review

  1. Shane Skekel says:

    I might have to check this out, but I have to finish Shantae and the Pirate’s Curse, Nano Assault Neo, Tengami, my Wii U Virtual Console catalog, and Hyrule Warriors.

  2. Ezekiel Rage says:

    Not too shabby for a system that apparently has no games. I can also recommend Armillo, Unepic, TNT Racers and Zen Pinball for more unknown indie games^^

Leave a Reply

