The very best and very worst of 2014: Games

Here is my obligatory list of games – the very best and very worst of 2014. Please note that I only include games I have played, no Steam Greenlight titles and I do not discriminate against specific genres. I rate the graphics in terms of functionality, not how many shaders they throw at me. So here we go:

#5 Best: The Vanishing of Ethan Carter
Starting the list is a small indie game I just played recently. And I have t say I am impressed! A small studio took the Unreal Engine 3 and developed a game so visually stunning it is probably the most beautiful game ever created (up to this point). The audio presentation is superb as well, as is the writing. While I was not a fan of the ending, I did like the slow gameplay, the zero hand holding and the overall design of the game. There really is not much wrong with the game. The only reason it isn’t higher on this list is the short length and the uninspired letdown ending.

#5 Worst: Assassin’s Creed Unity
The other end of the spectrum is a bloated, expensive monstrosity of a game. To this day, after four patches, this piece of crap is barely functional, has framerate issues, broken game design and is overly expensive. Furthermore, despite all the hype about the visuals of the game it does look nice but at the cost of playability and that ruins everything. Pretty much everything in this game is wrong, starting with the use of Ezios theme on the title screen (why not use the Assassin’s Creed theme from Revelations/III?) to the boring and bland story, the uninspired music and the shitty gameplay. This is the worst AssCreed game ever and the only reason why it’s not higher on the list is the simple fact that at least it is somewhat cohesive and looks nice.

#4 Best: Bayonetta 2
While visually nothing spectacular, the game does look solid and plays fantastically, which is much more important of course. Character action games are rare these days and it is nice to see one done so incredibly well. Smooth animations, fantastic production values and fluid combat combined with stylish action and a great sense of humor, Bayonetta 2 is a great game – period!

#4 Worst: Rambo The Videogame
*Sigh* were to begin? Do you remember Contra? Imgine that in 3D. Now ruin everything you can ruin about that concept and instead make it a coverbased lightgun shooter? More or less, it’s not quite clear to me what this game was supposed to be but what it is is total shit. I mean, they released this for PS3 and it looks like it is like 5 years old but this was from 2014 and I can’t even comprehend what the fuck they were thinking here?

#3 Best: Mario Kart 8
You read my blog, so you know by now that I am very pleased with what Nintendo did this year. Sure the Wii U might sell worse than the GameCube but it has some incredibly well made games. Take Mario Kart 8 for example: Looks stunning, plays stunning, is fresh enough to be new and has Link playable in a Zelda course via DLC. What more do you want?

#3 Worst: Tetris for PS4
Now how in the world do you fuck up Tetris? I dunno, play the PS4 version of the game and see for yourself. Unresponsive? Check! Stuttering framerate? Check! Long Loading Times? Check! I mean, I can play Tetris on my calculator. How the fuck did this happen? Who made this? Ubisoft?! Oh… Oh!

#2 Best: Shovel Knight
Yeahno I don’t need to talk abut this, you just need to go out and play it for crying out loud! I mean, 8bit epicness, a mix between Mega Man and Duck Tales with some great pacing, brilliant action adventure elements and the greatest use of a bad pun ever? I dig it!

#2 Worst: Basement Crawl
How the fuck do you fuck up Bomberman? Well you create a Bomberman game and remove everything that is fun, break the multiplayer, remove the single player, don’t fix any bugs whatsoever and sell it for 10 bucks on PS4. There you go!

#1 Best: Super Smash Bros Wii U/3DS
Who would have guessed? Except everyone of course. I count both games as one since, well, same gameplay, same character roster, same moves, ect. There is not much to say, to me this is the definitive Smash Bros experience.^^

#1 Worst: The Letter
I can’t really describe this “game” since it has no gameplay. Oh, I know! Take the Vanishing of Ethan Carter and remove every single thing that makes it good. Then throw together some bad, storebought graphics without real music, bad writing and horrible controls, shorten it to four minutes or so and take the pathos out of the ending. Nah, that won’t do it, this game is still worse…

Honorable Mentions: Good
Hyrule Warriors, Child of Light, Bravely Default

Honorable Mentions: Bad
Amazing Spider-Man 2, Dungeon Keeper Mobile, The Sims 4

Honorable Mentions: *Sigh*
Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2, Sonic Boom, Assassin’s Creed Rogue

This entry was posted in Games, Top 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

