Super Mario Ad by the church

I am always mildly amused when I see Nintendo mascots used for something else. However, when I saw this picture, I was not so much amused – it was more of a concern to me.

This picture metaphorically translates to: Hey kids, we are cool, come on over to us to play video games.

The subtle context here is that the modern church knows what kids like. However, looking at the picture itself, they are behind twenty-five years. Not only that, with the current situation in Europe in regard to child abuse in various religious instances, one cannot help but to worry.

Do not get me wrong. I have nothing against believers. In fact, I think that for most people it is important to have some kind of religion or belief. It is essential for most. But I think that advertising like this is wrong. Nintendo themselves will probably not be too happy about that, seeing their “let’s avoid all religious topics to step on nobody’s toes” approach to games nowadays and especially in the past (Terranigma comes to mind).

All in all, I doubt this pic was a good idea. It maybe seemed cool on paper, but the execution was very sloppy. I’m not even sure parents like the approach. Better stay with summer camps. Just try to make those more attractive to kids.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

